Aldean parties in Mansfield with help from Bryan

A review of Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan at the Comcast Center on July 14, 2012

, Contributing Writer

On a reprise run of his “My Kinda Party” tour, Jason Aldean hit Massachusetts on Saturday for a sold out performance at the Comcast Center in Mansfield. Fusing his rock aspirations with a setlist of country anthems, the Georgia native’s high energy kept the party going for the adoring crowd.

Aldean kicked off the set with rocking version of 2007’s “Johnny Cash”. From there, the older hits flowed right after another. Fan favorites “Big Green Tractor” and “Amarillo Sky” got the rock treatment, with a few guitar solos worked in. For the pairing of “Why” and “The Truth”, Aldean alternated which side of the audience he would serenade with his country twang.

It wasn’t until Aldean got to his newer fare that the show really picked up steam courtesy of his smash 2010 album My Kinda Party. After a few Red Sox jokes (and a chant for his doppelganger Josh Beckett), he worked the crowd into a frenzy with the fan favorite “Crazy Town”. The audience equally loved “Fly Over States”, while “Tattoos On This Town” was given a louder and harder rock treatment in the live setting. Power ballad and crossover hit “Don’t You Want to Stay”, which featured duet partner Kelly Clarkson via video in an awkward but necessary move, became one of the few times Aldean looked comfortable without his guitar. The hip-hop infused “Dirt Road Anthem” proved to be another standout.

Aldean also took time on a couple of occasions to preview material off his forthcoming, untitled album. Lead single “Take a Little Ride” was delivered midway through the set and fit right in with his recent hits, while “Wheels Rollin'” kicked off a 2-song encore. The show closed with Aldean’s first hit “Hick Town”, a solid rocker powered by drummer Rich Redmond.

Opener Luke Bryan could find a place in a boy band with the way he caters to the ladies and finds every opportunity to shake for the audience. His set began with the cheesy “Rain is a Good Thing”, but the set really got moving with his flirtier songs. “Someone Else Calling You Baby”, followed by recent #1 “Drunk on You” provided opportunities for Bryan to dance around the stage, as well as showcase the talents of his backing band.

Midway through his 12-song set, Bryan took a seat at his piano. After jokingly singing a line of Justin Bieber’s “Boyfriend”, he launched into an unexpected but pleasant cover of Adele’s “Someone Like You”. The ballads continued with fan favorite “Do I” and another cover in Journey’s “Faithfully”, both of which sparked great sing-alongs.

Bryan kicked it back up with rocker “All My Friends” (complete with some guitar riffs of Metallica’s “Enter Sandman”) before closing the set with a pair of hits for the ladies, “I Don’t Want This Night to End” and “Country Girl (Shake it For Me)”. His microphone started to give out at the end, but he finished with his flirty attitude and now signature booty shake, so no one seemed to care.

Between Aldean and Bryan, DJ Silver kept the crowd entertained. Early arrivals were treated to a set from up-and-comer Rachel Farley.

Jason Aldean Setlist:
1.  Johnny Cash
2.  Big Green Tractor
3.  Amarillo Sky
4.  Why
5.  The Truth
6.  Crazy Town
7.  Take a Little Ride
8.  Fly Over States
9.  Tattoos On This Town
10. Don’t You Want to Stay
11. Dirt Road Anthem
12. My Kinda Party
13. She’s Country
14. Wheels Rollin’
15. Hick Town

Luke Bryan setlist:
1.  Rain is a Good Thing
2.  Country Man
3.  Someone Else Calling You Baby
4.  Drunk on You
5.  Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye
6.  Drinkin’ Beers and Wasting Bullets
7.  Someone Like You (Adele cover)
8.  Do I
9.  Faithfully (Journey cover)
10. All My Friends Say
11. I Don’t Want This Night to End
12. Country Girl

Leave a Reply