Slash unveils album plans, contest for bands to record with him

, Staff
Legendary guitarist Slash is slated to release his upcoming self-titled solo album in April. The ex-Guns N’ Roses/Velvet Revolver axeman is currently putting the finishing touches on the album, which has no exact release date yet, in a Los Angeles studio with with producing partner Eric Valentine (Queens of Stone Age, The All-American Rejects).

Backing Slash is a group comprised of former Nine Inch Nails drummer Josh Freese and ex-Jane’s Addiction bassist Chris Chaney. The album will include an impressive array of special guests including  Ozzy Osbourne, Dave Grohl, Flea, Iggy Pop, Ronnie Wood, Adam Levine, Fergie, Kid Rock, Ian Astbury, Chris Cornell, Rocco DeLuca, Myles Kennedy, Andrew Stockdale, Jason Bonham, Alice Cooper, Duff McKagan, Steven Adler, Izzy Stradlin and Nick Oliveri. Slash handled the majority of arranging and songwriting duties and hand-picked each guest artist, who then worked collaboratively with Slash to round out the song.

The full track listing is available below.

“The idea was really simple in the beginning,” said Slash in a press release. “These are all artists I wanted to work with – that I thought it would be amazing to do something creative and collaborative.  And I was so impressed with what everyone brought to the table. They were all so committed to doing a good job. And we had a lot of fun making these songs.”

Slash is also starting to route a tour in support of the new album. In a message on his MySpace, he announced that Myles Kennedy will front the band. “I think he is by far one of the best Rock and Roll singers out there today,” he said. “I’m really honored & proud to be working with him. I will announce the other band members shortly.” He also stressed fans to follow him on Twitter & tell him what city/country they’re from because he hopes to use that information to help plan determine his tour route.

“I’ve been jamming around town with everybody and their brother for the last year and I can’t wait to get out & do my own show finally,” he said in closing. “It’s going to be a gas. See you soon”

In other news, if your band is looking to add a new lead guitarist, Slash is available. The guitar legend is offering fans the chance to join him in the studio through a content that will see one lucky winner record an album with Slash. The contest, held in conjunction with Guitar Center, will provide the winner the opportunity to record a three-track EP with Slash and Guns N’ Roses producer Mike Clink. The winner’s single will be posted online with the iTunes digital store and the prize also includes a management and distribution deal. Fans can submit their music on until April 30 when the finalist will be handpicked by Slash and Clink.

Slash’s Slash track listing:

01. Ghost (Ian Astbury)
02. Crucify The Dead (Ozzy Osbourne)
03. Beautiful Dangerous (Fergie)
04. Promise (Chris Cornell)
05. By The Sword (Andrew Stockdale)
06. Gotten (Adam Levine)
07. Doctor Alibi (Lemmy Kilmeister)
08. Watch This (Dave Grohl/Duff McKagan)
09. I Hold On (Kid Rock)
10. Nothing To Say (M. Shadows)
11. Starlight (Myles Kennedy)
12. Saint Is A Sinner Too (Rocco De Luca)
13. We’re All Gonna Die (Iggy Pop)


Leave a Reply