The J. Geils Band announce summer tour

, Staff

After rocking Fenway Park with Aerosmith last summer, The J. Geils Band have announced plans to return to the road this year. The legendary Boston rockers will reunite for brief tour in August, including a homecoming show at the Bank of America Pavilion on Saturday, August 6. Tickets for the show, which range in price from $30 to $95, will go on sale Saturday at 10 a.m. through Live Nation. Opening the show will be The Chris Robinson Brotherhood.

The J. Geils Band, currently featuring original members Peter Wolf (lead vocals), Richard “Magic Dick” Salwitz (harmonica), Seth Justman (keyboards), Danny Klein (bass) and Jay Geils (guitar), reunited for their first performance together in over a decade to celebrate the grand opening of the House of Blues on Lansdowne Street in February of 2009. They went on to play handful of shows in 2009 including a New Year’s Eve gig at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Connecticut. Of course, last August, the band rocked Fenway Park as part of a co-headliner with fellow Boston legends Aerosmith. Much like these recent reunions, fans can expect to hear a set of greatest hits including “Centerfold”, “Give It to Me”, “Love Stinks” and “Ain’t Nothin’ But a House Party”.

The summer tour is scheduled to launch on Friday, August 5 in Bangor, Maine at the Bangor Waterfront Pavilion. The band has five other shows scheduled after Boston, including stops in Connecticut, New York and New Jersey.

Last year, Wolf released and toured in support of his latest solo album, Midnight Souvenirs. Meanwhile, J. Geils, Magic Dick and Klein have performed locally, most recently as part of the “Boston Legends” series. Klein also performs as Danny Klein’s Full House, which pays tribute to the music of The J. Geils Band.

With The Black Crowes on hiatus again, frontman Chris Robinson is keeping busy with his latest project called The Chris Robinson Brotherhood. The group, who have been touring up and down the state of California since the of March, features Robinson with Neal Casal (guitar), Adam MacDougall (keyboards), George Sluppick (drums) and Mark “Muddy” Dutton (bass). “We’ll be playing a bunch of new songs I have been working on and will be digging deep into what is happening at that musical moment,” explained Robinson in statement on his website. “There will be old stuff that I’ve done and a handful of covers that just feel right.”

Leave a Reply