Ray Davies to play Boston

, Staff

Ray Davies, lead singer of The Kinks, has revealed plans to perform two shows in the United States this fall. Thankfully, for fans in Boston, Davies will play the hub before he makes his way to New York City. Davies will perform at Boston’s Wilbur Theatre on Sunday, November 28. Tickets for the show are now on sale through Ticketmaster for $57 and $77.

Davies is gearing up for the release of his forthcoming album, See My Friends. The new release is an album of classic Kinks songs turned into unique collaborations including Bruce Springsteen, Metallica, Jackson Browne, Mumford & Sons and more. The project kick-started when Davies recorded a version of “Till The End Of The Day” in the summer of 2009 with Alex Chilton.

“With some tracks I had to appreciate the style of the other artists, otherwise it would have sounded unbalanced,” explains Davies in a press release. “And I wanted the album to work as an entire listening experience but each track had a life of its own”.

Davies traveled all across the globe to complete See My Friends: Oslo via Denmark, Germany and Belgium to record with Metallica, New York to record with Jon Bon Jovi, New Jersey for Bruce Springsteen, Chicago for Billy Corgan from Smashing Pumpkins and his own north London base, the legendary KONK studios, for much of the rest. “This record is well-traveled already,” he says.

Paloma Faith, Black Francis of the Pixies, Gary Lightbody of Snow Patrol, Lucinda Williams, Amy MacDonald, Sppon, Lucinda Williams, and The 88 also appear on the new album. No stateside release date has been named for See My Friends. The complete tracklisting is available below.

The tracklisting for Ray Davies’ See My Friends:

1. Better Things – with Bruce Springsteen
2. Celluloid Heroes – with Jon Bon Jovi & Richie Sambora
3. Days/This Time Tomorrow – with Mumford & Sons
4. Long Way From Home – with Lucinda Williams & The 88
5. You Really Got Me – with Metallica
6. Lola Ray – with Paloma Faith
7. Waterloo Sunset – with Jackson Browne
8. ‘Til The End of The Day – with Alex Chilton & The 88
9. Dead End Street – with Amy Macdonald
10. See My Friends – with Spoon
11. This Is Where I Belong – with  lack Francis
12. David Watts – with The 88
13. Tired Of Waiting – with Gary Lightbody (Snow Patrol)
14. All Day And All Of The Night/Destroyer – with Billy Corgan (Smashing Pumpkins)

Leave a Reply