Lowell Summer Music Series finalizes lineup with Herbie Hancock

, Staff

Organizers for the Lowell Summer Music Series have finalized this summer’s concert lineup by adding the final four shows. Highlighting the list of artists that will perform at Boarding House Park is jazz piano great Herbie Hancock.

Hancock, a winner of 12 Grammy Awards, will perform in Lowell on Saturday, August 7. Tickets are now on sale for $35. Hancock will be touring in support of his forthcoming album, The Imagine Project, which is set for a June 21 release. The album will feature collaborations from a wide variety artists including Dave Matthews, The Chieftans, Seal, Pink, Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi. The album will be his first since 2007’s River: The Joni Letters, which won the Grammy Award for Album Of The Year.

Also added to the Lowell Summer Music Series are 70’s folk favorites Jonathan Edwards and Aztec Two-Step, who will team up for a show on Saturday, August 14. Tickets are $16. Hometown favorites the James Montgomery Blues Band with the Uptown Horns will play on Saturday, August 21. Tickets are $18. Gandalf Murphy and the Slambovian Circus of Dreams will hit Lowell on Friday, September 3. Tickets are $16.

They’ll join previously announced performers including Cake, Robert Randolph & the Family Band, Amos Lee, Indigo Girls, Jimmy Cliff and The B-52s. Tickets for all shows are are now on sale through the Lowell Summer Music Series’ website.

The complete list of shows with ticket information is available below
.

Boarding House Park (located at the corner of French and John Streets in downtown Lowell) is a general admission venue, where fans are encourage to bring a blanket, low sand chair or lawn chair. Children age 12 and under are admitted free. More shows are expected to be announced over the next couple of months. In total, the Lowell Summer Music Series will feature 20 shows at Boarding House Park. The non-profit concert series is presented by the Lowell National Historical Park and the Lowell Festival Foundation and aims to bring top-notch talent with low ticket prices.

2010 Lowell Summer Music Series Lineup

Taj Mahal Trio on Friday, June 25
$21 in advance, $25 day of show

Amos Lee on Friday, July 9
$21 in advance, $25 day of show

Jimmy Cliff on Saturday, July 10
$33 in advance, $40 day of show

Cake on Friday, July 16
$35 in advance, $40 day of show

Joan Armatrading on Saturday, July 17
$28 in advance, $35 day of show

Indigo Girls on Friday, July 30
$26 in advance, $30 day of show

Marc Cohn on Saturday, July 31
$21 in advance, $25 day of show

Suzanne Vega & Patty Larkin on Friday, August 6
$21 in advance, $25 day of show

Herbie Hancock on Saturday, August 7
$35 in advance, $40 day of show

Lyle Lovett & His Large Band on Friday, August 13
$45 in advance, $50 day of show

Jonathan Edwards and Aztec Two-Step on Saturday, August 14
$16 in advance, $20 day of show

The B-52s on Friday, August 20
$45 in advance, $50 day of show

James Montgomery Blues Band with the Uptown Horns on Saturday, August 21
$18 in advance, $25 day of show

Marcia Ball on Friday, August 27
$16 in advance, $20 day of show

Natalie MacMaster on Saturday, August 28
$21 in advance, $25 day of show

Gandalf Murphy and the Slambovian Circus of Dreams on Friday, September 3
$16 in advance, $20 day of show

Southside Johnny & The Asbury Jukes on Saturday, September 4
$24 in advance, $30 day of show

Robert Randolph & the Family Band on Friday, September 10
$26 in advance, $30 day of show

Leave a Reply