Boston Irish Festival returns to Canton this weekend

, Staff

The Boston Irish Festival will return to Canton this weekend as the Irish Cultural Center of New England hosts their annual celebration of Irish music and culture. This year’s three-day lineup boasts an array of impressive talent including Enter The Haggis, Black 47, McPeake, The Screaming Orphans and Derek Warfield & The Young Wolfetones.

The festival will kick off with a concert from New York-based Celtic rockers The Prodigals on Friday. On Saturday, the festival will kick into high gear with Enter The Haggis, The Makem and Spain Brothers, Black 47 and Joshua Tree all performing on the main stage. Sunday’s main stage lineup will include McPeake, Derek Warfield & The Young Wolfetones, The Screaming Orphans and Tom Lanigan. Saturday and Sunday’s musical offerings will also include a second stage with a variety of New England-based traditional Irish favorites, as well as various sessions throughout the festival grounds. The festival schedule with estimated set times for each of the stages is available below.

Aside from all the music, the Boston Irish Festival will host an Irish Films tent, an Author’s tent, Gaelic Football and Hurling matches, Genealogy Consultations, Irish Step Dancing, crafts, food, amusement rides and much more.

Tickets are available for $15 per a day or $35 for a three-day weekend pass. Current ICC members can purchase discounted tickets for $10 per a day or $15 for a three-day weekend pass.

The festival will take place on the grounds of the Irish Cultural Center of New England at 200 New Boston Drive in Canton, Massachusetts.

For more information on the 2011 Boston Irish Festival, please go here.

2011 Boston Irish Festival – Music Schedule

Eastern Bank Stage

7:00 – The Prodigals

2:00 – Joshua Tree
4:00 – Black 47
6:00 – The Makem and Spain Brothers
8:00 – Enter the Haggis

12:00 – Tom Lanigan and Band
2:00   – The Screaming Orphans
4:00   – Derek Warfield and the Young Wolfetones
6:00   – McPeake

WROL Tent and Stage

12:00 – The Ha’Penny Band
1:45  – Dicey Riley
3:30  – Tradition
5:15  – Noel Henry Showband
7:00  – The Gobshites

12:00 – Andy Healy Band
1:45  – Boston Black Thorne
3:30  – John Robert Murphy Band
5:15  – Denis O’Gorman Band
7:00  – Boston’s Erin Og

Leave a Reply