The Mallett Brothers Band top New England Music Awards

, Staff

Maine’s The Mallett Brothers Band topped the 2014 New England Music Awards, held this past Saturday at the Lowell Memorial Auditorium. The group took home the top two honors, winning Band of the Year and Album of the Year for Land.

Going into the New England Music Awards (NEMA) ceremony, Rhode Island rockers Deer Tick and Maine rapper Spose lead the nominations with three each. Both took home one award with Deer Tick winning Song of the Year for “The Dream’s in the Ditch” while Spose was named Hip Hop Act of the Year. Sarah Barrios was named New Act of the Year, while Frank Viele won Live Act of the Year.

Wining NEMA’s unique “Best in State” awards were Little Ugly (Connecticut), The Ghosts of Paul Revere (Maine), Bad Rabbits (Massachusetts), Aldous Collins Band (New Hampshire), The Low Anthem (Rhode Island) and Waylon Speed (Vermont).

The complete list of winners is available below.

NEMA also presented a trio of special awards: the Grassroots Award to Acoustic for Autism, the Scene Award was to Lowell Celebrates Kerouac! and the Decade Award was to Ernie Boch.

Saturday’s ceremony, which was emceed by comedian Steve Sweeney, featured performances by nominees Dressed for the Occasion, Haley Sabella, Josh Logan, Nemes, Sarah Borrello, The Mallett Brothers Band and Will Dailey, as well as Lowell’s Riverhawk Party Band.

According to the NEMA organizers, selecting the winners was a three-stage process. Bands were first invited to nominate themselves through the event’s website, as well as Sonicbids and ReverbNation. After the submission process, the nominations were determined by a nominating committee comprised of journalists, radio personalities, talent buyers, and record label executives collectively representing all six New England states. Voting was then opened to the public to help determine the winners through the event’s website with the nominating committee used to help settle any ties.

2014 New England Music Award Winners

Band of the Year: The Mallett Brothers Band
Album of the Year: The Mallett Brothers Band – Land
Song of the Year: Deer Tick – “The Dream’s in the Ditch”
New Act of the Year: Sarah Barrios
Live Act of the Year: Frank Viele
Best in State – Connecticut: Little Ugly
Best in State – Maine: The Ghosts of Paul Revere
Best in State – Massachusetts: Bad Rabbits
Best in State – New Hampshire: Aldous Collins Band
Best in State – Rhode Island: The Low Anthem
Best in State – Vermont: Waylon Speed
Female Performer of the Year: Lori McKenna
Male Performer of the Year: Josh Logan
Songwriter of the Year: Chris Ross
Americana/Roots Act of the Year: Hayley Jane and The Primates
Blues Act of the Year: Jeff Pitchell and the Texas Flood
Country Act of the Year: The Shana Stack Band
Hard Rock/Metal Act of the Year: Leaving Eden
Hip Hop Act of the Year: Spose
Indi/Pop Act of the Year: Darlingside
Jazz Act of the Year: Fogcutters
Rock Act of the Year: Sarah Borrello
Producer of the Year: Nick Tirrell
Grassroots Award: Acoustic for Autism
Scene Award: Lowell Celebrates Kerouac!
Decade Award: Ernie Boch

Leave a Reply