Nominations revealed for 2012 Boston Music Awards

, Staff

Organizers for the Boston Music Awards have revealed this year’s nominees. Amanda Palmer, Karmin, Mean Creek, David Wax Museum, Debo Band and Gem Club led the way with three nominations each. Celebrating its 25th anniversary, the BMA’s will take place at the Liberty Hotel in Boston on Sunday, December 2.

Palmer and Mean Creek both earned nominations in the top categories of Artist of the Year and Album/EP of the Year (Palmer with Theater Is Evil and Mean Creek with Youth Companion). David Wax Museum, Debo Band and Karmin are also up for Artist of the Year, while the Album/EP of the Year field is rounded out by Gem Club (with Breakers), Session Americana (with Love And Dirt) and Mission Of Burma (with Unsound).

Karmin (with “Broken Hearted”) and David Wax Museum (with “Harder Before It Gets Easier”) will also square off in Song of the Year, alongside Young London (with “Call My Name Tonight”), Streight Angular (with “Everyone is Syncopated”) and Air Traffic Controller (with “Hurry Hurry”).

Will Dailey, Session Americana, Converge, Cam Meekins, Dutch Rebelle and Andre Obin each earned two nominations.

The complete list of nominees for each category is available below.

To be eligible for a Boston Music Award, a musician or producer must have strong ties to New England. The time frame for consideration for this year’s awards are November 1, 2011 to October 31, 2012.

Fans can vote through the BMA’s official website at Voting more than once is allowed but not encouraged. The Boston Music Awards Voting Academy accounts for two thirds of the final votes while the public accounts for the remaining one third. Voting closes at midnight on Monday, November 19.

Once again, this years Boston Music Awards promises to be a big party and showcase for the local music scene with multiple stages located within the Liberty Hotel featuring extended sets from nominated artists. The performance lineup will be announced on November 7.

Tickets for the 2012 Boston Music Awards are now on sale through General Admission tickets are available for $25, while VIP tickets are available for $100 and include a cocktail reception with nominees, performers and industry insiders. Proceeds from the event will benefit the Music Drives Us foundation.

2012 Boston Music Awards Nominees

Artist of the Year
Amanda Palmer
David Wax Museum
Debo Band
Mean Creek

Album/EP of the Year
Breakers – Gem Club
Love And Dirt – Session Americana
Theater Is Evil – Amanda Palmer
Unsound – Mission Of Burma
Youth Companion – Mean Creek

Song Of The Year

“Broken Hearted” – Karmin
“Call My Name Tonight” – Young London
“Everyone is Syncopated” – Streight Angular
“Harder Before It Gets Easier” – David Wax Museum
“Hurry Hurry” – Air Traffic Controler

New Artist Of The Year
Cam Meekins
Dutch Rebelle
Fat Creeps
Gem Club
Yale, Massachusetts

Live Artist Of The Year

Debo Band
Girls Guns & Glory
J. Geils Band
Viva Viva

Rock Artist Of The Year

Dirty Dishes
Earthquake Party
You Can Be A Wesley

Hip Hop Artist Of The Year

1982 (Termanology & Static Selektah)
Cam Meekins
Charmingly Ghetto
Dutch Rebelle
Moe Pope & Rain

Pop /R&B Artist Of The Year

Bad Rabbits
Gentlemen Hall
Louie Bello
Shea Rose

Americana Artist Of The Year

Coyote Kolb
Kingsley Flood
Lyle Brewer
Session Americana

Blues Artist Of The Year

Erin Harpe & The Delta Swingers
James Montgomery
Johnny A
Peter Parcek
Ronnie Earl

DJ Artist Of The Year

DJ Paul Foley
Frank White
Leah V

Electronic Artist Of The Year

Andre Obin
Glass Teeth
M | O | D
Stereo Telescope

Folk Artist Of The Year

Bow Thayer And Perfect Trainwreck
Caleb Groh
David Wax Museum
Ellis Paul
You Won’t

Gospel/Inspirational Artist Of The Year
Ashmont Hill
Berklee Reverence Gospel Choir
David Altenor
Keisha Dream
Rashad McPherson & Divine Purpose

International Artist Of The Year
Debo Band
Evolfo Doofeht
Mamadou Diop
Mr. Ho’s Orchestrotica
Zili Misik

Jazz Artist Of The Year

Elan Trotman
Esperanza Spalding
Grace Kelly
Miss Tess
Omar Thomas

Metal/Hardcore Artist Of The Year
Mellow Bravo
Ramming Speed

Punk Artist Of The Year
Big D and the Kids Table
Dropkick Murphys
Have Nots
Mighty Mighty Bosstones
Now Denial

Singer Songwriter Of The Year
Marissa Nadler
Mike Fiore (Faces On Film)
Ryan Lee Crosby
Sarah Blacker
Will Dailey

Female Vocalist Of The Year
Amanda Palmer
Casey Desmond
Eilen Jewell
Nicole Nelson
Shea Rose

Male Vocalist Of The Year

Christian McNeill
Jesse Dee
John Powhida
Tad McKitterick
Will Dailey

Producer Of The Year Hip Hop
Lu Balz
Malik Williams
Matty Trump
Statik Selektah

Producer Of The Year Rock
Benny Grotto
Dave Minehan
Ed Valauskas
Mike Denneen
Paul Q. Kolderie

Video Of The Year
“252” – Gem Club
“If I Could Lose You (Sleeper Shows)” – Spirit Kid
“Valencia” – Andre Obin
“Yonkers (Live in the Attic)” – Pretty & Nice
“Young And Wild” – Mean Creek

Best Boston Artist Who Doesn’t Live In Boston
Aimee Mann
Mike Viola
Passion Pit
The Figgs

Best Dance Night
Fresh Produce
Make It New
Pico Picante
The Pill

Best Live Music Venue

Brighton Music Hall
Great Scott
The Middle East

Best Live Ongoing Residency
Club d’Elf at Lizard Lounge
Duppy Conquerors at Sally O’Brien’s
Roy Sludge Trio at Radio
The White Owls at Toad
Tim Gearan Band at Atwood’s Tavern

Best Music Blog
Allston Pudding
Boston Band Crush
Jump The Turnstyle
On The Download
Ryan’s Smashing Life

Leave a Reply