Karmin, Mean Creek top 2012 Boston Music Awards

, Staff

Diversity ruled at the 25th annual Boston Music Awards, held Sunday night at the Liberty Hotel. Pop stars Karmin took home the top honor, winning Artist of the Year while Mean Creek was awarded Album/EP of the Year (for Youth Companion) for the second consecutive year.

Also repeating wins from 2011 were folk favorites David Wax Museum (Song of the Year for “Harder Before It Gets Easier”), Christian McNeill (Male Vocalist of the Year) and Shea Rose (Pop/R&B Artist of the Year). After winning Artist of the Year and Live Artist of the Year, veterans Dropkick Murphys were named Punk Act of the Year for 2012.

Rapper Cam Meekins was named New Artist of the Year, while the Debo Band was name Live Artist of the Year. Other notable winners included Ribs (Rock Artist of the Year), Moe Pope & Rain (Hip Hop Artist of the Year), Kingsley Flood (Americana Artist of the Year) and Will Dailey (Singer Songwriter Of The Year). The complete list of winners is available below.

Sunday’s award ceremony was dominated by performances held throughout the Liberty Hotel from some of the city’s finest artists including Young London, Air Traffic Controller, Streight Angular and O Positive. Mean Creek headlined a showcase at Redstar Media in Cambridge, which was simulcast live at the ceremony.

2012 Boston Music Awards Winners

Artist of the Year: Karmin

Album/EP of the Year: Youth Companion – Mean Creek

Song Of The Year: “Harder Before It Gets Easier” – David Wax Museum

New Artist Of The Year: Cam Meekins

Live Artist Of The Year: Debo Band

Rock Artist Of The Year: Ribs

Hip Hop Artist Of The Year: Moe Pope & Rain

Pop/R&B Artist Of The Year: Shea Rose

Americana Artist Of The Year: Kingsley Flood

Blues Artist Of The Year: Erin Harpe & The Delta Swingers

DJ Artist Of The Year: Frank White

Electronic Artist Of The Year: Andre Obin

Folk Artist Of The Year: Caleb Groh

Gospel/Inspirational Artist Of The Year: Berklee Reverence Gospel Choir

International Artist Of The Year: Evolfo Doofeht

Jazz Artist Of The Year: Omar Thomas

Metal/Hardcore Artist Of The Year: Converge

Punk Artist Of The Year: Dropkick Murphys

Singer Songwriter Of The Year: Will Dailey

Female Vocalist Of The Year: Nicole Nelson

Male Vocalist Of The Year: Christian McNeill

Producer Of The Year Hip Hop: Malik Williams

Producer Of The Year Rock: Dave Minehan

Video Of The Year: “252” – Gem Club

Best Boston Artist Who Doesn’t Live In Boston: Passion Pit

Best Dance Night: The Pill

Best Live Music Venue: Royale

Best Live Ongoing Residency: Tim Gearan Band at Atwood’s Tavern

Best Music Blog: Allston Pudding

Unsung Hero: Ed Valauskas

Humanitarian of the Year: Jillian Jensen

One Comment

  1. Pingback: Karmin, Mean Creek top 2012 Boston Music Awards | BLUE BLOG!

Leave a Reply