Brad Paisley leads CMA Awards nominations

, Staff

The Country Music Association (CMA) announced yesterday the nominations for their 43rd annual awards ceremony. Leading the way with seven nominations was frontrunner Brad Paisley, while Keith Urban, Taylor Swift, George Strait, Jamey Johnson and Zac Brown each received four nominations.

Paisley earned nominations for Entertainer of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year, Album of the Year (“American Saturday Night”), Single of the Year and Song of the Year (“Then”), Musical Event of the Year and Video of the Year (“Start a Band” with Keith Urban). He will look to dethrone reigning four-time Entertainer of the Year winner Kenny Chesney, who, currently is tied with Garth Brooks for the most wins in that category. Urban, Strait and Swift were also nominated for the CMA’s top prize.

In the Album of the Year category, Paisley will face off against Urban’s Defying Gravity, Swift’s Fearless, Sugarland’s Love on the Inside, and Jamey Johnson’s That Lonesome Song. The most surprising nomination went to rockers The Raconteurs for the collaboration with Ricky Skaggs and Ashley Monroe on “Old Enough”.

The complete list of nominees is available below.

The winners will be named during the November 11 ceremony, which will air live on ABC, at& the Sommet Center in Nashville. Paisley and Carrie Underwood will return to host the event for the second consecutive year.

2009 CMA Awards Nominees:

Entertainer of the Year
Kenny Chesney
Brad Paisley
George Strait
Taylor Swift
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist
Miranda Lambert
Martina McBride
Reba McEntire
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist
Kenny Chesney
Brad Paisley
Darius Rucker
George Strait
Keith Urban

New Artist
Randy Houser
Jamey Johnson
Jake Owen
Darius Rucker
Zac Brown Band

Vocal Group
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Rascal Flatts
Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo
Big & Rich
Brooks & Dunn
Joey & Rory
Montgomery Gentry

Single of the Year
“Chicken Fried” – Zac Brown Band
“I Run to You” – Lady Antebellum
“In Color” – Jamey Johnson
“People Are Crazy” – Billy Currington
“Then” – Brad Paisley

Album of the Year
American Saturday Night – Brad Paisley
Defying Gravity – Keith Urban
Fearless – Taylor Swift
Love on the Inside – Sugarland
That Lonesome Song – Jamey Johnson

Song of the Year
“Chicken Fried” – Zac Brown and Wyatt Durette
“I Told You So” – Randy Travis
“In Color” – Jamey Johnson, Lee Thomas Miller and James Otto
“People Are Crazy” – Bobby Braddock and Troy Jones
“Then” – Brad Paisley, Chris DuBois and Ashley Gorley

Musical Event
“Cowgirls Don’t Cry” – Brooks & Dunn featuring Reba McEntire
“Down the Road” – Kenny Chesney with Mac McAnally
“Everything But Quits” – Lee Ann Womackwith George Strait
“I Told You So” – Carrie Underwood featuring Randy Travis
“Old Enough” – The Raconteurs featuring Ricky Skaggs and Ashley Monroe
“Start a Band” – Brad Paisley with Keith Urban

Music Video
“Boots On” – Randy Houser
“Love Story” – Taylor Swift
“People Are Crazy” – Billy Currington
“Start a Band” – Brad Paisley (with Keith Urban)
“Troubadour” – George Strait

Musician of the Year
Eddie Bayers – Drums
Paul Franklin – Steel Guitar
Dann Huff – Guitar
Brent Mason – Guitar
Mac McAnally – Guitar

Leave a Reply