BMS Guide to Inauguration Concerts on TV

, Staff

Barack Obama mania will hit Washington D.C. this weekend as the millions of citizens arrive in the Nation’s Capital for the President-elect’s Inauguration on January 20. But before Aretha Franklin opens the officially ceremony with the Star-Spangled Banner next Tuesday, there will be a variety of Inaugural parties and concerts featuring everyone a diverse range of acts, ranging from Bruce Springsteen to Miley Cyrus and the Beastie Boys to The Dead. Even local heroes Susan Tedeschi and Amanda Palmer will be performing. However, we are in a recession so if you’re probably lacking the cash to get tickets to the extravagant parties, let alone the transportation down. Well, have no worries, plenty of the concerts will be broadcast on various TV specials. Here’s a quick guide on what you can watch from the comfort of home:


HBO will air the "We Are One: The Obama Inaugural Celebration at the Lincoln Memorial". This official inaugural event features an all-star cast of performers: Bruce Springsteen, U2, Garth Brooks, Stevie Wonder, James Taylor, Beyonce, Mary J. Blige,& Sheryl Crow, Josh Groban, Herbie Hancock, John Legend, Jennifer Nettles, John Mellencamp, Usher, Shakira, Heather Headley, Renee Fleming, and Queen Latifah, Jamie Foxx, Denzel Washington and Martin Luther King III will do readings. The two-hour live broadcast begins at 2:30, but the network will plans to re-air the event multiple times after.


The Disney Channel will air the the "Kids’ Inaugural: We Are The Future" from 8:30 to 9:00. Miley Cyrus and the Jonas Brothers will headline this official part, which is being hosted by first lady-to-be Michelle Obama, Jill Biden and their families.& &

CNN will host and air "A Celebration of America" with performances from Wynton Marsalis and Bela Fleck.


ABC will broadcast the "Neighborhood Inaugural Ball" featuring performances by Beyonce, Mary J. Blige, Mariah Carey, Faith Hill, Jay-Z, Alicia Keys, Shakira and Stevie Wonder. The two-hour special starts at 8 p.m.

BET will air a one-hour special at 8 p.m. from their "Yes We Will: BET’s Inauguration Celebration", which is set to feature performances from Mary J. Blige, Wyclef Jean, Nick Cannon, Terrence Howard, Queen Latifah, Ne-Yo, Anita Baker, Jazmine Sullivan, and Joss Stone.

Leave a Reply